Rozsa Award for Excellence in Arts Management returns in 2016

The Rozsa Award for Excellence in Arts Management recognizes, celebrates and promotes the contribution of an outstanding arts administrator and provides additional professional development benefits to the recipient and his or her organization. In addition to the Award for Excellence, nominees will also be eligible for the Rozsa Award for Innovation and the Rozsa Award for Human Resources.

Recipients of the Rozsa Awards are leading managers in Alberta’s arts scene. Nominate an administrator that has excelled in the business administration of an arts organization in Alberta.

Look back: 2014 Rozsa Awards
Rose Brow - Recipient of the Rozsa Award for Excellence in Arts Management

Rose Brow is a strategic arts leader in all major areas of theatre production and administration. As Managing Director of Quest Theatre since 2001, her vision and guidance have resulted in the recognition of Quest Theatre as a dynamic arts company dedicated to theatre that is relevant and enjoyable for young people across Alberta. Rose has achieved exemplary levels of success in human resource and administration management. She is dedicated to supporting emerging artists, technicians and administrators in the arts community, as well a community collaboration initiatives, implementation of sustainable business processes and development of sound governance policies. Through Rose’s efforts, Quest Theatre will be launching a national tour in the 2014-2015 season.


Jo Steffens - Recipient of the Rozsa Award for Innovation

As Executive Director of Wordfest for the past three years, Jo Steffens has succeeded in engaging more Calgarians than ever in the power of story. Under her guidance, Wordfest has pushed the boundaries of traditional literary presentations, and introduced innovative, free, public art word projects in collaboration with community partners and artists.  Wordfest has also enjoyed rapid, successful expansion in the youth market; has challenged the e-book trend by operating their own bookstore starting with the 2013 festival; and has grown the impact of their year-round presentations.




Rose Brow
Managing Director
Quest Theatre

Catherine Glaser-Climie
Founder, Artistic Director & Executive Director
Cantaré Children's Choir

Elizabeth Ludwig
General Manager
Northern Light Theatre

Melody McKnight
Executive Director
Red Deer Symphony Orchestra

Jo Steffens
Executive Director

Shelley Switzer
Artistic Producer
Edmonton International Street Performers Festival
Nomination Information

Nomination information about the 2016 Rozsa Awards will posted by early 2016. The nomination process occur in two stages. 

Stage One: Submission deadline for Stage One will be announced at a later date.
The initial stage will include a brief initial nomination submission by the nominators to determine the candidate and organizational eligibility for the Rozsa Awards (see nomination form below). All nominees will receive acknowledgement of receipt.

Stage Two: Submission deadline for Stage Two will be announced at a later date.
Nominators of eligible candidates will be invited to submit detailed information. Note: Re-nominations require detailed completion of Stage Two.

Complete information about eligibility of nominees and nominators, the jury process and evaluation criteria is available in Nomination Information.

Sample information from previous years:


The Rozsa Award Liaison, Brenda-Ann Marks serves as the jury chair. Other jury members include the past two recipients of the Rozsa Award, individuals chosen by the Rozsa Award partners, and other outstanding business leaders from around the province.

The jury process is rigorous. Following a well-defined scoring system, each juror independently ranks the candidates. Then the jury meets as a group to explain their choices. Following the discussion, each juror again ranks the candidates. Typically, one candidate receives a unanimous number one ranking. The jury may conduct on-site interviews to further evaluate candidates.

Past Recipients

Rozsa Award for Excellence in Arts Management

2014 Rose Brow - Quest Theatre
2013 Erin O'Connor - One Yellow Rabbit Performance Theatre & High Performance Rodeo
2012 Stephen McHolm - Honens International Piano Competition
2011 Marilyn Smith - Southern Alberta Art Gallery
2010 Suzanne Mott - Vertigo Theatre
2009 Tom McFall - Alberta Craft Council
2008 Les Siemieniuk – Calgary Folk Music Festival
2007 Tony Luppino – Art Gallery of Alberta
2006 Stephen Schroeder – One Yellow Rabbit Performance Theatre
2005 Kathi Sundstrom – Decidedly Jazz Danceworks
2004 Anne Green – Wordfest
2003 Bob McPhee – Calgary Opera

The Rozsa Innovation Award

2014 Jo Steffens - Wordfest
2013 Annemarie Petrov - Edmonton Symphony Orchestra & Francis Winspear Centre for Music
2012 David Chereos - Litfest: Edmonton's Non-Fiction Festival
2011 Eva Cairns - Catalyst Theatre
2010 Penny Ritco - Citadel Theatre
2009 Gerard Gibbs- Empress Theatre
2008 Bob Davis – Rosebud Theatre
2007 Xstine Cook – Calgary Animated Objects Society (CAOS)

The Rozsa Human Resources Award*

2013 Linda Wedman - The Works Visual Arts Society
2012 Terry Wickham - Edmonton Folk Music Festival
2010 Rose Brow - Quest Theatre
2008 Murray Kilgour – School of Alberta Ballet

*This Award was formerly named the Rozsa Award for Education

Origin of the Award

In 2002, Dr. Theodore Rozsa was named the recipient of the annual Edmund C. Bovey Award, an award that recognizes extraordinary achievements in arts philanthropy. Building on the $20,000 Bovey prize money, the Rozsa Foundation embarked on a collaborative venture to encourage best business practises in arts companies.

The Rozsa Foundation had just concluded an environmental scan of arts support in the community. It was apparent that the outstanding work of many Arts Managers typically went unnoticed, and, on the other hand, that the administrative weakness of countless arts organizations resulted in a poor public perception of the contribution of the arts to society. In addition, budget cuts in the early 1990's had led to the elimination of most middle management positions in arts companies. Senior managers were reaching retirement age, and no immediate successors were apparent. Those who found themselves "behind the scenes" typically had had no arts management training since only one provincial institution offers education in this area and the prevailing norm was just "on with the show". The Rozsa Award for Excellence in Arts Management was created to address these realities.

The original Award partners included The Calgary Centre for Non-Profit Management who donated consulting services, administrative and marketing support; and the Alberta Performing Arts Stabilization Fund who contributed their expertise in the development of the selection criteria, as well as providing a strong communications link with the Calgary arts community and the Mayor's Luncheon for Business and The Arts. Financially, The Rozsa Foundation matched the Bovey monies, as did two other individuals. Additional smaller donations were also received.