History of the Rozsa Award

Origin of the Award

In 2002, Dr, Theodore Rozsa was named the recipient of the annual Edmund C. Bovey Award, an award that recognized extraordinary achievements in arts philanthropy. Building on the $20 000 Bovey prize money, the Rozsa Foundation embarked on a collaborative venture to encourage best business practices in arts companies. 

The Rozsa Foundation had just concluded an environmental scan of arts support in the community. It was apparent that the outstanding work of many Arts Managers typically went unnoticed, and, that the administrative weakness of countless arts organizations resulted in poor public perception of the contribution of the arts to society. In addition, budget cuts in the early 1990s had led to the elimination of most middle management positions in arts companies. Senior managers were reaching retirement age, and no immediate successors were apparent. Those who found themselves "behind the scenes" typically had had no arts management training, as only one provincial institution offered education in this area, and the prevailing norm was simply "on with the show". The Rozsa Award for Excellence in Arts Management was created to address these realities. 

The original Award partners included The Calgary Centre for Non-Profit Management who donated consulting services, administrative and marketing support; and the Alberta Performing Arts Stabilization Fund who contributed their expertise in the development of the selection criteria, as well as providing a strong communications link with the Calgary arts community and the Mayor's Luncheon for Business and The Arts. Financially, the Rozsa Foundation matched the Bovey monies, as did two other individuals. Addition donations were also received.

How Was It Created?

The Rozsa Foundation collaborated with the Alberta Performing Arts Stabilization Fund, the Centre for Non‐Profit Management (now known as CentrePoint Non‐Profit Management) and the Calgary Professional Arts Alliance to develop the Award eligibility, criteria and nomination process. Seed monies were donated by Dr. Ted Rozsa and matched by the Rozsa Foundation, Ms. Sharon Watkins and Mr. Jim Stanford.

Past Recipients of the Rozsa Award for Excellence in Arts Management

Eva Cairns of Catalyst Theatre recieves 2016 Rozsa Award

Eva Cairns holding the 2016 Rozsa Award. Photo by Monique de St Croix (Uppimage)

Eva Cairns, Managing Producer of Catalyst Theatre (Edmonton) has been awarded the 2016 Rozsa Award for Excellence in Arts Management.

The choice of Eva Cairns as the 2016 Rozsa Award recipient reflects an outstanding nominee who displays excellence in all the Award criteria and whose organization’s scope and mission represent the wide mandate including engagement in the creation, production and presentation of art to the public. The jury’s decision was unanimous. Catherine Broomfield (iHuman Youth Society) and Steve Schroeder (CIFF), the other two nominees in the “top three”, each excelled in many of the eight award criteria, and their selection reflects the jury’s appreciation for the Rozsa Foundation’s interest in widening the scope of nominee arts managers, and the organizations they represent, for the Award.

Congratulations again to Eva, and our deepest thanks to Catherine Broomfield of iHuman Youth Society and Stephen Schroeder of Calgary International Film Festival, and all the 2016 nominees for their astounding work in arts management.

Full media kit HERE.

Past years' recipients:

Rose Brow
Quest Theatre

Erin O'Connor
One Yellow Rabbit
Performance Theatre &
High Performance Rodeo

Stephen McHolm
Honens International Piano Competition

Marilyn Smith
Southern Alberta Art Gallery

Suzanne Mott
Vertigo Theatre

Tom McFall
Alberta Craft Council

Les Siekmieniuk
Calgary Folk Music Festival

Tony Luppino
Art Gallery of Alberta

Stephen Schroeder
One Yellow Rabbit Performance Theatre

Kathi Sundstrom
Decidedly Jazz Danceworks

Anne Green

Bob McPhee
Calgary Opera

Additional Arts Management Awards

Currently there is only one Rozsa Award, the Rozsa Award for Excellence in Arts Management. In the past, the Rozsa Foundation offered various Special Achievement Awards to complement the Award for Excellence in Arts Management and finally in 2007 described this recognition as the extraordinary innovation in meeting or exceeding one of the seven criteria for the main award. The second annual award was aptly named The Rozsa Innovation Award.
In 2008, The Rozsa Award for Education was introduced to acknowledge provision of outstanding opportunities for audience and/or professional artist development through education in the context of annual performance or exhibition. In 2009, the criteria for was modified and the third arts management award was renamed The Rozsa Human Resources Award for outstanding provision of opportunities by the company for staff, volunteer or professional artist development.

Winners of the additional awards:

The Rozsa Innovation Award

2014 Jo Steffens - Wordfest
2013 Annemarie Petrov - Edmonton Symphony Orchestra & Francis Winspear Centre for Music
2012 David Chereos - Litfest: Edmonton's Non-Fiction Festival
2011 Eva Cairns - Catalyst Theatre
2010 Penny Ritco - Citadel Theatre
2009 Gerard Gibbs- Empress Theatre
2008 Bob Davis – Rosebud Theatre
2007 Xstine Cook – Calgary Animated Objects Society (CAOS)

The Rozsa Human Resources Award*

2013 Linda Wedman - The Works Visual Arts Society
2012 Terry Wickham - Edmonton Folk Music Festival
2010 Rose Brow - Quest Theatre
2008 Murray Kilgour – School of Alberta Ballet

*This Award was formerly named the Rozsa Award for Education