Rozsa Award Jury

The Rozsa Award Liaison, Brenda-Ann Marks serves as the jury chair. Other jury members include the past two recipients of the Rozsa Award, individuals chosen by the Rozsa Award partners, and other outstanding business leaders from around the province.

The jury process is rigorous. Following a well-defined scoring system, each juror independently ranks the candidates. Then the jury meets as a group to explain their choices. Following the discussion, each juror again ranks the candidates. Typically, one candidate receives a unanimous number one ranking. The jury may conduct on-site interviews to further evaluate candidates.

2016 Rozsa Award Jury

Brenda-Ann Marks, Jury Chair

Brenda-Ann has been associated with the Rozsa family and the Foundation since 1986, when she began her fund development career in Calgary's performing arts sector. She has held management positions at the Calgary Philharmonic Orchestra, the Faculty of Fine Arts and the Nickle Arts Museum at the University of Calgary, Calgary Opera and at other Calgary non-profit sector organizations. In addition, she has consulted with a wide range of arts groups and social service and development organizations. Brenda-Ann recently completed a Masters in Integrated Studies (focusing on Cultural and Literary Studies) through Athabasca University; she is currently engaged in creative writing studies and volunteers in the social sector. Brenda-Ann has been a member of the Rozsa Foundation Board of Directors since 2004 and has chaired the Rozsa Award Jury since 2005.


Justin McCormack, representative from the University of Calgary

Justin has been actively involved with the Calgary arts community since his enrollment at the University of Calgary. He organized a number of events with the Calgary Philharmonic Orchestra for U of C students and alumni as a part of a networking / concert series. Justin is a Category Specialist in the Procurement group at Husky Energy, and volunteers for a number of Arts organizations including: artScene Calgary (Business for the Arts), Honens Piano Competition, and the University of Calgary Alumni Arts Connection.  




Rose Brow, Quest Theatre Managing Director, Recipient, 2014 Rozsa Award for Excellence in Arts Management​

Executive Director of Vertigo Theatre since 2014, Rose is a strategic arts leader with over 20 years of experience in all major areas of theatre production and administration. In 2010 Rose was honored to receive the Rozsa Foundation Human Resources Award. An active community volunteer, Rose currently serves as volunteer Workshop Facilitator for the Board Development program with Alberta Culture and Community Services.

In addition to having previously worked as Managing Director of Quest Theatre for almost a decade, her dedication to emerging artists, community collaboration, and sustainable business practices has been instrumental in creating an award winning company that celebrates the spirit and responsibility of Theatre for Young Audiences. 


Shawn Kanungo, Management Consulting, Deloitte

​Shawn's focus is on understanding disruptive technologies, business models and broader disruptive trends on Deloitte's clients and on Deloitte core businesses. His career has spanned across many sectors, particularly in the public sector. He has since become Deloitte’s lead for all innovation projects in Western Canada. Shawn has also been responsible for implementing foundational platforms and programs to create an innovative culture within Deloitte.



Rose Ginther, BA, MA, Associate Professor and Chair, Arts and Cultural Management, MacEwan University

Rose Ginther is Chair of the Arts and Cultural Management program at MacEwan University in Edmonton. With a BA in History from the University of Alberta and an MA in Integrated Studies – which focused on work, organization and leadership – from Athabasca University, Rose has been teaching arts management at MacEwan for 25 years.

Teaching is central to Rose’s position as Chair and over the years she has enjoyed working with each student, applauding their accomplishments as they graduate and launch their arts management careers in earnest. Over the years many of MacEwan’s graduates have distinguished themselves through their work in the sector.  Her commitment to teaching excellence was rewarded with MacEwan’s Distinguished Instructor Award in February, 2002 and again in spring 2015.


Eva Cairns, Managing Producer, Catalyst Theatre, Recipient, 2016 Rozsa Award for Excellence in Arts Management

Eva was originally trained in classical ballet and made a transition to arts administration as tour coordinator for Judith Marcuse Dance Company in Vancouver. Since then she has worked with O Vertigo Danse (Montreal), Harbourfront Centre in Toronto, Shadow Theatre in Edmonton and The 2004 Magnetic North Theatre Festival. Since April 2006 she has been the Managing Producer for Edmonton’s Catalyst Theatre where she has overseen a significant decade of market and touring development with productions such as Frankenstein, Nevermore, Hunchback, The Soul Collector, and Vigilante. Outside of Catalyst Eva has provided project development and tour market development assistance to independent theatre artists in Edmonton and served on the Executive of the Edmonton Arts Council. In addition to the 2016 Rozsa Award for Excellence in Arts Management, Eva has also received the City of Edmonton 2015 Salute to Excellence Award, the Canada Council’s 2011 John Hobday Award for Arts Management, the 2011 Rozsa Award for Innovation and the 2011 Margaret Mooney Award for Outstanding Achievement in Arts Administration (Edmonton).